Shifting Focus: Reading Labels and Shopping for Organic Skin Care and Beauty Products

I’m very choosy when it comes to skin care.  I like taking recommendations from people and networks I trust, like the Healthy Beauty Project, but I also shop for skin care in the same way I shop for food: by reading labels.  The fewer ingredients the better, and they’d better be clear and easy-to-understand.

Lately I’ve noticed that a lot of brands, even brands considered to be organic, are boasting what is not in their products, more-so than focusing on what is in their products.  Have you noticed this?  Right next to the brand name and product is this bold list in all caps:  NO PARABENS!  NO PHALATES!  NO SLS!

This is all well and good, especially because I am a firm believer in using products that do not contain these toxins.  But as a consumer and a person, I’d rather read something a little more upbeat and positive.  What if instead, labels boasted, “Fresh, Pure Ingredients!” “Made with Certified Organic Oils and Sugar!”  I can read a label and deduce on my own that the absence of nasty ingredients equals a much healthier product, and think of how exciting would it be to read such positive statements!  It’s important to be informed, but I want to be informed of not only what’s harmful, but also what’s beneficial.

In this blog and in entries that follow, I will focus on the benefits of really great ingredients, and how to recognize them by their botanical names as well as their everyday names.  I’ll explore different ways to shop for skin care and ways to interpret and even design labels.  As I learn about these things, I’ll pass them on to you.  Let’s enjoy this journey together!

Have a great one,

Sarah

About SugaredBeauty

Owner of Sugared Beauty, LLC, a line of handmade beauty products made with pure, organic ingredients that resemble your favorite desserts!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Shifting Focus: Reading Labels and Shopping for Organic Skin Care and Beauty Products

  1. Todra says:

    Beautiful blog design…and much needed info. Excited to read more.

Leave a Reply

