Sneak Peek: A Look at How Sugared Beauty’s Products are Made

One of my favorite shows on the Food Network is Unwrapped.  Marc Summers opens every episode by introducing a type of food or drink and then takes us on a ride behind the scenes to see how it’s made.  I can’t watch the show without some sort of delicious snack to enjoy, because it always makes me hungry.

I’ve often thought it would be fascinating, and very telling, to see a show about how mainstream skin care and cosmetics are made.  I wonder how it’s done, and I’d love to know how much time actually passes from the time they’re whipped up in the production facility to when it finally arrives home with me.

A major goal at Sugared Beauty is to eliminate these unknowns.  I offer full disclosure of not only what ingredients go into my products, but also how and when they’re made.  That’s why I hand-label each jar with the date I made it…so you know exactly how fresh it is.

This morning, while I was filling an order for an Orange Creamsicle Moisturizing Body Sugar, I decided to take pictures of the process!  I can’t wait to mail this to the lucky recipient.  It smells just like those yummy summer treats, a welcome daydream in the midst of all this snow!

Below: Pouring the fairly-traded evaporated cane juice into the blend of organic virgin coconut, grapeseed, and essential oils

Mixing it up right nice…

The sugar and oils blend to make a sugary paste.  There’s just enough oil to keep it well blended, without it being soupy.

Now it’s time to spoon it carefully into the jar!  This batch is the perfect amount for one twelve ounce jar.  Everything is made in small batches, so that I know each one is just right!  (I also use PETE plastic jars, which are easily recylable!)

It’s filled to the brim with sugary, moisturizing goodness!  Notice how it doesn’t separate.  That has a lot to do with making sure that the ratio of sugar to oil is perfect!

The lid is sealed and the jar is labeled!  I write each scrub’s flavor by hand.  It’s just another way of making your product as personal as possible!

Now…who wants ice cream?

About SugaredBeauty

Owner of Sugared Beauty, LLC, a line of handmade beauty products made with pure, organic ingredients that resemble your favorite desserts!
This entry was posted in Behind the Scenes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sneak Peek: A Look at How Sugared Beauty’s Products are Made

  1. Pingback: Sneak Peak: Grab My Newest Product for FREE Before it Hits the Shelves! | The Sugared Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

