A Happy Accident With My Hair

Enjoy this silly (but true) story:

I ran out of shampoo the other night and desperately needed to wash my hair.

I didn’t have a back up, so I did something that caused a major flashback to Sugared Beauty’s earliest days: I experimented with some ingredients I had lying around.

My concoction? A gorgeously sudsy, colloidal mixture of pure organic virgin coconut oil and some of the ingredients that make up my Happy Face cleanser. It lathered up right nice and I sang for joy at what appeared to be a shoe-in for Sugared Beauty’s next product. I was intoxicated by the luscious coconuty-smell, and did I mention the LATHER??

About an hour later I started to blow it dry, and I noticed that it was still quite damp and…slick. No matter how much hot air I blew at it, my hair would not dry.  I looked like I’d been caught out in the rain (or hadn’t washed my hair for weeks), and it was time to meet my girlfriend for coffee.

I accepted the fact that my pride was going to take a hit and I wrapped my slick mane into a pony tail and headed out. When I finally hopped back in the shower (with my new bottle of shampoo, thank you very much), I lathered, rinsed, and repeated my way to locks that were surprisingly shiny, soft and supple.

Though it wasn’t at all what I expected, I can’t get over what that concoction did to my hair! I’m going to work on it and tweak it a bit…but this is a deliciously yummy hair treatment in the making. More like a hair masque than a shampoo, it’s a pre-treatment that will leave your locks happy and healthy.

Just don’t forget to shampoo it out afterwards.

Sarah

Want to know more about what I think of Organic Virgin Coconut Oil?  Check out my fun new video on the subject, then come back and tell me what you think!

About SugaredBeauty

Owner of Sugared Beauty, LLC, a line of handmade beauty products made with pure, organic ingredients that resemble your favorite desserts!
This entry was posted in Get to Know Sarah and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

