Same Product, Different Title: Changes to Item Listings on Etsy

Etsy, the host of my online shop, has recently responded to requests for a stronger, more relevant search system within their site.  They’ve completely revamped how people find products, namely through improved keyword searches.

Thanks to their search systems, I’ve been able to cast a wider net as a fledgling business to reach customers I couldn’t have found otherwise.

I saw Sugared Beauty when I did a search for products made with coconut oil.” G.V.

“I found you through a keyword when I was doing some browsing here on Etsy.” -E.S.

In order to take advantage of this increased searchability, I’ve had to seriously edit my titles.  Before, I enjoyed using descriptive words with my products’ dessert-themed names like Chocolate Cake! and Sugared Lemonade.  But now I’ve adopted a much more matter-of-fact approach to titling my items.

For example, the listing for my four ounce jar of Sugared Lemonade body sugar used to read:

Four Ounces, Sugared Lemonade Moisturizing Body Sugar. Handmade Skin Care with Organic Virgin Coconut Oil and Raw Sugar

It now reads:

Lemon Sugar Scrub with Organic Ingredients. Four Ounces. Gluten Free and Vegan Friendly with Organic Coconut Oil and Raw Sugar.

It’s still the same product you’ve come to love, and the label on the jar will still read Sugared Lemonade, but hopefully this title will help reach those who don’t yet know that they love it.

If you have any questions, please leave a comment below or send me an email.  I haven’t changed any of my sugar scrub formulas, I’m simply growing with Etsy as they grow into a more search-friendly site.

And yes, you’ll probably see the phrase “Gluten Free” on most of my products’ titles.  It’s amazing how many people are searching for gluten free cosmetics these days.

I’m happy to be among the brands that offer products to meet that demand!

About SugaredBeauty

Owner of Sugared Beauty, LLC, a line of handmade beauty products made with pure, organic ingredients that resemble your favorite desserts!
This entry was posted in News! and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Same Product, Different Title: Changes to Item Listings on Etsy

  1. I Pressed this on my blog! Oh, and your button was too cute not to add to my page, so there it is!

Leave a Reply

